Foot Tattoos

November 21, 2008 at 11:28 am (tattoo) (, , , , , , , , , , )

foottat1

For some unknown reason foot tattoos seem to be growing in popularity. A lot more people, mainly women are heading to local tattoo studios and getting tattoos on their feet. However, there are a few things you should know about foot tattoos before you go and and get one. First of all, not all tattoo artist will tattoo your feet. Mainly, because your feet are more often than not covered up by socks and shoes and the friction of all of that rubbing up against your tattoo causes it to fade really quickly.  Artist feel like it is a waste of their work because they know you will have to keep coming back to get it touched up if you want it to keep its brilliance.

Secondly, if you are dead set on getting a tattoo on your foot than maybe you should go with a black ink tattoo. The black ink doesn’t seem to fade as fast as the color ink and it will cost less, which is another added plus. Also foot tattoos are probably one of the most painful places you can receive a tattoo on your body. So if you don’t have  high pain tolerance, I would suggest not getting a tattoo on your foot and maybe go with the inside of your ankle. Lastly, if you are planning on getting a foot tattoo it might be better to wait until the warmer months arrive so you can wear flip flops while your tattoos is healing. Believe me the last thing you want is socks and or shoes rubbing up against a new tattoo, because it causes a lot of discomfort and all the rubbing will not let your tattoo heal properly.

Your Tattoo Friend

Ashley

Here are some great Tattoo Designs you can check out!

16 Comments

  1. kimberly said,

    its cute

  2. barbara said,

    its super cute.
    it makes me want to put more stars on mine.

  3. Teresa said,

    love this! 🙂

  4. Jamie said,

    Totally cute. Ilove stars they’re my absolute favortie. i have a larger tat of stars on my foot also. i am looking for some designs to get candy like lollipops, cupcakes, gumdrops, peppermints and such all down my side! I think it would be delicious!

  5. Melissa said,

    I do not have a tattoo yet, but my husband has a foot fetish, so I want to combine my first tattoo with his love to feet. I just love the stars it is super cute and would love to know how painful it is to have done. Again I love the tattoo and your polish is cute too.

    • Rebeckah said,

      I just got a heart on my foot and i love it but it hurt quite a lot! just to pre warn you! lol

      • Ashley said,

        Thanks for the warning. My next tat is going to be on my foot.

  6. Josie said,

    so glad i found this 🙂 great advice!
    the location of your tattoo looks excellent. i know i want to put my next one somewhere on my foot but ive had trouble deciding exactly where… this may have just helped me make my decision!

  7. Jessica said,

    This Tattoo is really nice i think i might get one just like it i really like it. It’s really simple and cute. at least if it hurt it didnt take that long!!!! I really like it.

  8. Bri said,

    I have two foot tattoos actually, one on each foot and both are in color. I’ve got cherry blossoms on my left foot that’s almost two years old and it hasn’t faded one bit, I do however put SPF 50 with broad spectrum UVA/UVB protection on it in the sun. The one on my right foot I just got recently, and it’s getting the same treatment.
    I think people’s foot tattoos fade so quickly because they don’t take care of them,
    Use sunscreen in the summer, always moisturize and avoid socks as much as possible,
    And your tattoo will stay brilliant for life, I promise 🙂

  9. niqquj said,

    nice foot and nice tattoo too i love it

  10. Breanna said,

    What a beautiful tattoo, i was considering getting my next tattoo on my foot and im totally gonna now 😛

  11. Louella Kiikoro said,

    Nice tattoo im on 16 and my family has a thing for getting a tattoo on our 16th birthday and ive thort about it im gett 6 stars on my foot representing the 6 people in my family but after hearing the fading bit im not to sure now i dont want a tattoo that will be ruiened by fading so does any one have any suggestions on where another good spot is??

    • Ashley said,

      I wouldn’t worry about the fading. I’ve heard if you take care of it you shouldn’t have problems with them fading. Just be sure to keep sunblock on it when you are out in the sun and try not to wear closed shoes as often as you can.

  12. Willemijn said,

    Last Saturday I got my first tattoo and it is on my foot. I thought it was going to hurt like hell, but it was ok actually. When she got near my ankle it hurts more and you feel it all around your foot, but the pain is ok.

  13. Jimmy Z said,

    Hey there, nice tattoo, I am a photographer in NYC putting a book together. If any of you have a cool tattoo on your foot or feet and would like to model please let me know.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

