How Many Tattoos Are Too Many?

December 18, 2008 at 4:07 pm (tattoo) (, , , , , , , , , , )

I guess this all depends on who you ask. Some people may say one tattoo is too many while others may say four, eight or ten. The point of the matter is you are the only one who can really decide how many tattoos is too many. Of course the size and location of the tattoo also plays a huge part in this decision. For instance, a very attractive looking girl could have a fairly large tattoo on her upper arm, that is a little gaudy and distasteful so some would say that one is too many. While some other girl could have ten tattoos and not be perceived as trashy and having too many tattoos, simply because her tattoos are small and in places that are not so noticeable.

Let’s look at Rihanna for example, she has several tattoos and counting, but she has her tattoos very tastefully done and they are also in not so noticeable places, plus a majority of them are rather small. So this just goes to show one woman can have over ten tattoos and people won’t think she is going overboard and has too many tattoos because they are not gaudy or over sized. So the moral of this story is to be extra careful when deciding where to put your tattoo. The location could mean whether or not people think you are out of your mind, trashy and or crazy. The best rule of thumb to follow when deciding to get a tattoo is try to stay small and tasteful. For some strange reason people seem not to criticizes as much if you have several small tattoos rather than one very large tattoo. But then again you get tattoos for you and no one else. On the other hand if you don’t want to spend the rest of your life hearing people whisper about your over sized tattoo and how trashy it looks, you best go with a small tasteful one.

Your Tattoo Friend

Ashley

Here are some great Tattoo Designs you can check out!

4 Comments

  1. delaney55 said,

    I have 2 small tats and then my newest one that I get the Sat. after Christmas will be a larger one on my shoulder. I am a bit surprised that you frequently post about choosing small tats. If that is your picture in the sidebar, it looks like you have 1/4 or 1/2 sleeves on both arms. Do you regret these? From what the pic shows they look fine. If you choose sleeves, why promote small tats only? Just asking cause I’m a bit confused.

  2. testthis5445 said,

    I have also noticed your enthusiasm for promoting smaller tattoos, well hidden tattoos or not getting them at all. Also the small = classy/acceptable and the large = trashy/taboo. I would have hoped that as a fellow tattoo lover you would focus more on the beauty and expression ANY tattoo has the potential to have, rather than what is “right or wrong.”

    I also don’t find it particularly helpful when you say something along the lines of a tattoo should be for you and no one else, and in the next sentence go right on to what others will think of you.

    Personally I have a quarter-sleeve and on the other arm I have a tattoo on my inner forearm that is medium sized, about nine inches. Both of which I have never received negative criticism from (other than my mother when I brought the forearm tattoo home, but that is to be expected) anyone on the street or friends and acquaintances.

    Just as well, I assume that your predisposition towards smaller tattoos comes from the dislike of your own tattoos by the person who loves you the most. Or perhaps it is the reading of the other articles that you have been doing that brings your own views on tattoo taboo (sounds like a band name) into question. But, I really think that no matter the amount of preparedness one has when considering a tattoo, it is never perfect. There is always a certain bit of personality to a tattoo. And ultimately, no matter how big, or where the location is, or whether or not it is “socially acceptable,” it will always mean something special to me. Period.

    Anyhow, thanks for this blog. It’s great to get another viewpoint on tattoos and taboos.

  3. Ashley said,

    That’s not really me in the picture. The reason I promote small tats is because I regret one that I got that is not on the small side when I was 18. I just want people to be aware that a large percentage of people who have tattoos regret at least one or more of them and women seem to regret them more. Just trying to make sure people don’t fall into those percentages, that’s all.

    Also I’m not knocking people who have sleeves or half their body covered in tats. I just want to educate young people on the seriousness of getting a tattoo and that it is a very adult decision to make and it shouldn’t be taken lightly. Also they are forever you can’t just wake up one day and decide you don’t want them anymore. You are stuck with them for life. I just want people to make the best decision when it comes to getting tattooed.

    Thanks for the comments though.

  4. austat2 said,

    Lot`s of people regret tattoos because they are to concerned what their friends think. It doesn`t maytter what anyone else thinks. Make the choice yourself , not does this look good to you. I have 2 full sleeves and lots of other tattoos i don`t regret any. I`ve been getting tattooed fot 11 years and won`t stop soon. The only diiference between tattooed people and non tattooed people is tattooed people don`t care if your not tattooed.

Leave a Reply

